Travel Blog Entry #1


Yesterday afternoon, I made a photo slideshow for a change. Maybe it’s just the Internet connection, but sadly the image resolution on the video seemed lower than in the originals.

South Korea is a beautiful, culture-rich country. The people are very hardworking and kind, the meals simple and healthy, every Korean-made product speaks of the highest quality.

Not being able to read road signs, brand names, magazines, and newspapers for six days has been a little frustrating for one who loves to read anything and everything, but this girl has become fascinated with how much the country has grown from being a poor nation to one that has one of the most promising economies today.

To experience what South Korea is a blessing-the country that gave birth to K-Pop, The Face Shop, Samsung, Hyundai, LG, and Koreanovelas-is like firsthand. Now I know how Koreans manage to have such clear skin and dress so stylishly: cosmetics stores are all over the place in Seoul, and the night market on Myeongdong Street is a haven for Korean street fashion.

I loved how coffee shops are everywhere. It was a delight to see a different café on every street from our foggy bus window.

The best part about the tour is that it was me and my family’s first time to experience winter. My sister brought along a glass jar in the hopes of catching a snowflake, although we only got to see very little snowfall during one freezing evening outside a restaurant near Konjiam Resort, a ski resort owned by LG Corporation in Gwangju-si City. Then again, that unanticipated snow falling around us like minuscule balls of white cotton already felt magical.

* * *

I wish I could spend more time writing about my recent travels, as well as about events that transpired the year before, but this pile of schoolwork keeps weighing heavily on me right when I got back to Manila. And so for now this is what I’ve got. :)

8 thoughts on “Travel Blog Entry #1

    • Backpacking in Korea?! Gosh I honestly don’t know how to go backpacking. I really want to try sometime haha!

      We went to the popular tourist spots in Korea since we were on tour (34 in a bus), including Nami Island (setting of Winter Sonata), Everland theme park, Lotteworld, strawberry farm, a kimchi-making place, ginseng center, the ski resort of LG, and different places in Seoul including a Trick Eye Museum, spa, and night market-among others. I’m sure there are a lot of other places you’d be interested to go though! I want to hear all about your adventures soon! :)

  1. I loved your slideshow, Des! Looks like you had a great time–I’m so happy for you. You’re so lucky that you got to go during Winter. You look like you fit right in. >:D<

    In less eloquent news: as/f;d;l;wwnd,cmfi KOREA!!!! THE FOOD! THE SHOPPING! THE EVERYTHING! :))

    • Ceej, thank you so much for watching! I hope you didn’t mind seeing the photos of my family over and over haha! :) You’re also lucky to get to go on study tour there with your friends! I enjoyed reading your blog entries about your travels. I think you went to more cultural spots (which I really like going to) than we did!

      We ate so much kimchi there haha! And yes, the shopping! We were only given an hour and a half to go shop in the night market and it was too short! SO MANY PRETTY STORES! <3 Let's go back to Korea someday! :D

      • I think it’s because ours was a study tour–the history was very important. I wish I got to go shopping more, though. We only passed by the night markets and were limited to an hour each in Myeongdong and Itaewon. No way you can hit all the stores in an hour! :))

        YES, THE KIMCHI! Haha you’re so lucky that you got to make your own kimchi. Is it difficult? :) We should go back! I’m gonna save up once I start working, what about you? Does your family plan on going again? :)

Leave a Reply

