Being Eighteen


With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. ~ Desiderata

image by nikolinelr

Every year, people’s hearts are filled with bright hopes, sheer optimism, new beginnings, and infinite possibilities. One of my resolutions this year is to work on my writing as well as my blog entries, which I strive to fill with more insight and less fluff, with a deeper personal touch and fewer clichéd ideas.

I write in the hopes that I could reach out to friends and strangers whom I want to touch but can’t because of the hurdles of time and distance. I write as my own actions are every so often ambiguous, that I may sometimes stammer when I talk. I write in order to make sense of what’s happening to me and around me.

Looking back on my rather eventful 2009, I realize that I want to chronicle the little moments and events that have shaped me into who I am now.

Therefore, I want to begin a series of blog entries I call Eighteen Things: different lists of eighteen things that defined me during the year 2009. Why 18? Because I am turning 19 in a couple of months, of course. This is perhaps my way of assuring myself that I did my best in making my only chance of being an eighteen-year-old girl a meaningful and awesome one.

To my very few wonderful readers, I truly appreciate you taking the time to read this blog of mine. I am forever grateful. As I share bits and pieces of my life, I always hope that I have also shared a few ideas one could use, little inspirations to change, and doses of happiness to whoever is reading. I aim to make this blog more interactive and reader-friendly in the months to come, and to reply to each and every comment.

I want to continue writing this blog together with you, while we ourselves continue to grow. Let’s together look forward to this year, throwing away our worries and troubles, and to bring our big audacious dreams, highest hopes, unconditional love, and unwavering faith with us. Let’s be thankful not only for the happy moments but also for the difficult ones. 2010 is just beginning to unfold. Remember to make each and every single day count. Starting…now!

My first The Eighteen Series entry to be posted soon.

follow me on Twitter!

7 thoughts on “Being Eighteen

  1. Hello Desiree. :)

    You don’t know me but I just want to comment on how you write with your words – very moving and genuine. :) It took me awhile to also find what course I should pursue and also once thought of (and celebrated) what it was like to be eighteen. :)

    Your new fan,
    Steffi :)

    “If there’s any kind of magic in this world it must be in the attempt of understanding someone sharing something. I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed but who cares really? The answer must be in the attempt. ” – From Before Sunrise

  2. Pingback: 21 Things: Post-Graduation Firsts | fearless princess

Leave a Reply

