A time to stress, a time to rest (the exciting way)


Rosie Hardy's In Love

Rosie Hardy's In Love (click on picture to view her photostream)

If there is one thing I would like to change about today’s generation, it would be the belief that they have all the time in the world, that it is completely fine to do absolutely nothing but simply let the grains of sand trickle away in their hourglasses of life. If I could remove one word from their memory, it would be bore. No, make that lazy. Or are slacker and bum more detrimental words?

I once swore to myself that I would never say or even think of the following phrases: “I’m lazy”, “I’m bored”, “There’s nothing to do around here.” Then again, I never had time to feel lazy nor bored. Life is too exciting, unpredictable, and just a bit too short for me. :)

What does “bumming around” mean anyway?

Is it having TV show marathons, with the likes of Gossip Girl, Heroes, Lost, and House?

Is it spending hours playing games, uploading photos, and continuously updating our Multiply, Facebook, and Friendster profiles?

Is it talking on the phone with your best friend for hours and spilling in elaborate detail about how your crush has finally noticed you?

Is it playing video games all day long and only pausing to eat and to go to the bathroom?

Is it taking extra-long naps because we don’t have anything better to do?

Is it Plurking and continuously updating the whole world about what you’re currently doing, thinking, loving, and hating at that particular moment?

Is it mindlessly strolling in the mall, basking in the cool air-conditioned atmosphere, going inside every trendy store but not buying anything anyway?

I guess these activities are typical of the youth today. I admit I do some of the things above myself (particularly Plurking and malling, and surfing the net mindlessly for hours at a time). Nevertheless, how many hours or even days, are wasted doing these routine pastimes? Bumming around, for me, is wasting time, and not even caring to do anything about it. It means ceasing to look for excitement, and settling for what is within our reach. It is the easy life. The stress-free, hassle-free, blissful life people “deserve” to have after a hard day’s work.

Bumming around is to lose the opportunity to improve oneself, with the amount of resources that are given to us (the Internet, various activities offered in school, all this unstructured free time), it is such a waste to not use it by not doing something different, exciting, and productive.

Of course, lounging around once in a while is quite harmless. But what I mean is it is dreadful to spend so much time that way, without realizing that you can do more exciting, worthwhile, productive things with the time given to you.

M. Scott Peck, the author of The Road Less Traveled once said:

“Until you value yourself, you won’t value your time. Until you value your time, you will not do anything with it.”

Finally, summer is here. I am now free from deadlines, stressful group projects, and grueling exams. There is so much free time again to do the things I truly want, and I do not know where to start! For starters, I have about more than fifty books eagerly waiting for me to devour them one by one, and a stack of DVDs to watch. I want to take up a new sport, apply for a summer job, go on a study tour, to improve my Photoshop skills, practice driving… The possibilities are endless. Bumming is so not on my to-do list.

I have always been a girl longing for some excitement and adventure. Staying put will only make me fidgety and irritable. Why waste time doing trivial, mindless stuff? I wish more people would realize that the world is our playground, and it is waiting for us to take action, to make a difference, to change things, and most of all, to enjoy the thrill and happiness life gives us along the way.

I remember a wise person say that we are all equally given 24 hours each day, but it is what we choose to do with each of our 24 hours every day determines who we are going to be and what we will be able to fulfill in life. I myself fall to the habit of procrastinating every once in a while, and I desperately want to develop better time management skills (I better reread The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Seth Covey <highly recommended book for dazed and confused teens like me>).

So start veering away from your computer screen and do something different, anything at all. Just do not settle with being bored. Read a good book, join that contest, break a world record. Bumming around is so yesterday. Being prolific, productive, and interesting is the in thing now. ;)




4 thoughts on “A time to stress, a time to rest (the exciting way)

  1. dess…your blog post just hit me like a dagger that went straight to my heart…hahahaha…i’ve been bumming around for the last two weeks…hahahaha…well, i’ve read a book, wrote the lyrics of one song, and stuff…but your blog just hit me…nyahahaha…don’t worry…it’s not your fault…hehe…maybe i feel that bumming around the house keeps me sane…hahahaha…

  2. Hey Jen! I’m so sorry my blog hit you like that, hahahaha I really just strongly believe in what I said above and can’t help but blurt it out, even though I know many people do not agree with me… xD

    Of course, people have different ways on how they spend their time. In the end, what matters is that you are happy with what you’re doing. :D

Leave a Reply

