Stumbling upon KC Concepcion


While waiting in my parents’ office today, I was flipping through a back issue of Metro Magazine where KC Concepcion is the cover model. KC, 21, is one of my many role models. She is one of the most stunning girls I have ever seen. She is true to herself and to the public eye, where she has been thrust upon because of her megastar mom, handsome biological dad, and a senator stepdad.

KC is such a bright young girl who has seen the world, studied in France, and currently has a successful career. I secretly wish I could be like her.

Anyway, I have found out that she has been keeping a blog. Typing “kc concepcion blog” on the Google search bar, I found it in less than 30 seconds!

Her posts are so amusing. She’s really candid, sweet, and spontaneous in her writing. She’s so down-to-earth, too, and she is not afraid of being herself.

Here is one of the many beautiful things I have picked up from her blog:

“Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind.

Look at the sunny side of everything and make your
optimism come true.

Think only of the best,
work only for the best,
and expect only the best.

Forget the mistakes of the past
and press on to the greater achievements of the future.

Give so much time to the improvement of yourself
that you have no time to criticize others.

Live in the faith that

the whole world is on your side

so long as you are true

to the best that is in you!”

– Christian D. Larson


One lesson I have picked up from KC is that we all need to do something crazy once in a while, get out of our comfort zones, and do whatever it takes to be really alive! After all, we are all here to experience what life has to offer, and it up to us on how we will make the most out of it.


Thinking about it, what new, interesting stuff have I done lately?

Here’s a couple:

– Two days ago, I volunteered for the Philippine Schools Debate Championships at the Ateneo (I so missed my school after almost a month of not seeing it!). What I did not expect is to arrive at 8AM sharp but discovering that volunteers will not be needed until 2 in the afternoon for just one round of debates! We waited 6 long hours for a job that requires ushering high school debaters around and distributing score sheets and other materials. It was worth it though. I volunteered because of the people I get to meet and make friends with. For some reason, being around different people makes me happy. I was glad I was able to get to know more and spend time with my fellow ADS (Ateneo Debate Society) members that day. 6 hours of waiting was not all that bad.

– I got our pet dog to sit and shake hands with me! Because of my mother’s somewhat ridiculous obsessiveness over our (stray) pet dog, she managed to teach Hokie (Fookien for “Lucky”) some fun doggie tricks, like sit, shake hands. And yes, Hokie only understands “sit” when spoken in Fookien and will only oblige when food is being dangled in front of her face as a reward.

– There is another crazy thing I did today, which would be better left unsaid. After all, a girl has to have some secrets, too. *winks*

What have YOU done lately?


Now I am off to bed. Registration is tomorrow, I need to wake up at seven, I have 5 and a half hours left of sleep, and I still haven’t finished reading Brida. Sigh, if only time stood still and let this girl catch up on her reading before sembreak ends and another grueling term starts all over again. Not that I am complaining, though. I am excited with everything about the second term, except for three things: plays, skits, and group works. *prays that her Introduction to Poetry professor would use old-fashioned teaching methods and would not assign us projects requiring a script and a video camera.*



Leave a Reply

