Diary Entry: Friday with Friends


*Sometimes I want to write long diary entries like these simply because I want to remember how my days went, to record little details that may go forgotten, unless they are written down in clear writing. And of course, I love to write. Thus, I welcome you to take a glimpse of a day in my life.*

I paired new, dark purple Kamiseta jeans with a brown shirt with pink hearts, plus comfy light brown wedges. Still not so stylish, but good enough for an afternoon out with my high school buddies.

Grabbing a banana and my favorite Chuckie Choco Burst milk drink, I went to the office with Mommy early in the morning, since I am going to meet up with my friends at McDonald’s, Taft branch at eleven. With Philippine Star, my book (The Thirteenth Tale) and iPod (with my brand-new headphones) in hand, I did not even notice that I have been sitting in one of the empty cubicles for one and a half hour already. What I did notice is my workaholic aunt (my dad’s eldest sister) constantly yelling and cursing at clients over the phone, which hurt my ears and my head. I understand why my mom despises being in the office. Working with someone in the same room with poor manners and without an ounce of respect can be quite tiring.

Fast-forward to Mcdo.

I met up with Shara, Kat, Kim, Irene, Irene’s two blockmates, Irving, and Louie. After some chitchat, Kat, Kim, Shara, Louie, and I went to Robinsons Place via LRT Line 1 (Irene had had something planned with her two friends – who seemed really nice – at her house, while Irving had to do some research in the library). It was the most crowded train I have ever been on! Kim, Kat and I looked really silly stifling our giggles as we struggled to stand still amid people standing by us side by side on the shaky, old train.

We had lunch at Pho Hoa.

I missed chatting with my best friends and not having to think of the proper English term for something that is easier said in Filipino. I need to brush up on my English-speaking skills, and so I love my English-speaking Atenean friends for that. But kwentuhan and tawanan is always most fun with my best friends in casual, fuss-free Tagalog. ;)

Kim has finally traded her worn-out cell phone with a sleek, professional-looking Nokia E-series model. For me, it is one of the nicest designed Nokias out. If only I had the money, I would not think twice about getting one of those. I am craving for a full-function keyboard. Texting with only 12 buttons gets so tiring sometimes.

Kat has asked us something that surprised me a little, but then again, I always knew that Kat and I think alike on many occasions. Except for obvious differences, we share many beliefs and interests together. Anyway, what she asked us is this: Do we already know what we want to become after we graduate from college? Here are our answers:

Kim dreams of becoming a lawyer, and she is planning to shift to Legal Management next semester. I have always seen her as a very strong girl, she would do well standing up for justice and whatever she believes is right.

Louie is predestined to help run the family business. Even though he also wants to pursue many things (like becoming an architect or a dentist), he says that he has to think of his family, and that he is going to have to run the business himself one day. I am only beginning to understand that now, since I have always believed in passion over practicality, fulfillment over money, and in excellence over mediocrity. But I need to accept that different people treat things differently; for example, I think studying hard and getting exceptional grades are important, but to many others, they don’t stress over these things as much as getting a good-paying job in the end. We are different people with different values, after all.

There are so many things I want to be, but so little time. I sometimes want to become a journalist, sometimes an entrepreneur. I sometimes dream of going corporate and get a career in advertising and marketing. I also dream of being an editor-in-chief of a magazine (particularly Marie Claire), working in foreign and international affairs, or I might become active in humanitarian causes, or start my own business, or get a job wherein I get to travel around the world. I swore to myself that I would never get a 9-5 office job. I would only want to work for something that I truly believe in.

Kat and I are still uncertain as to who we want to be in the future, and I feel better knowing that I am not alone being utterly clueless and confused. Many of us are also going through the same dilemma, and I guess there is no rush. I am trying to find out what I am truly passionate about and what matters most to me, and I will not stop until I discover it. Until then, I will continue to live life fully and happily, taking each day at a time.

I really missed hanging out with them.

Louie and Kat had to go back (reluctantly) to class, leaving Kim, Shara, and me to watch High School Musical 3. We even met Kyrah, Trisha L., Trisha A., Renz, and Jenelle, and we were watching the same movie together. It was so nice to see them again. Jenelle was amusingly funny as usual; she asked from out of the blue if I had seen Rosie and Aaron’s latest pictures on Flickr – I think nobody else understood what we were talking about. :D

HSM 3 was surprisingly nice and beautifully made. It was not overly cheesy at all, and it was definitely a lot more than what I expected from this movie. To my surprise, Jenelle teasingly told me that I will surely write a review about this – hmm, for you, Jenelle, I will attempt to write one sometime. :)

We then headed over to Secret Recipe to finish the New York Cheesecake we ordered (we already ate one slice before we went to watch). As Kim and Shara went home, Louie came back from school to accompany me for an hour, until my mom came to pick me up.

Lastly, I had dinner with Mommy at Flapjacks.

I badgered my mom into allowing me to go to my Celadon friend’s Photoshop Workshop in her house and to a Halloween party of another friend after that, although she says that she does not know the owner of the house well. She even went so far as thinking that we would be doing vices instead of a Photoshop Workshop. Ugh. That’s how overprotective moms think anyway, so I am the least bit surprised, but nonetheless a bit sad, too, that I will be missing another chance to get to know some new friends. Who knows how much I would learn, see, and talk about if only I went that day… Still, I must be thankful that my parents care enough for me, that some parents out there do not give a damn about their kids.

I long for the day when I will be allowed to travel by myself, to make my own decisions, to be able to embark on a great adventure, to take more risks, to be free.

Then again, “Freedom is not something that anybody can be given. Freedom is something people take, and people are as free as they want to be.” – James Baldwin

One thought on “Diary Entry: Friday with Friends

  1. Dess! This is so, so late! I’m leaving a comment after, what, three months?! XD

    I miss reading your automatically-generated entries over at Livejournal in my friends’ page. XD I always have to check WordPress now, I guess. XD

    Anyway, it’s still quite a blur of what I want to do with my life — just like you and Kat… heck, a lot of us are still confused of what we want to lie ahead of us, ignoring how surprises might occur. For example, me. XD I’ve finally gone insane — er, I mean — changed my decision. I’ve always thought, “I want to be an animator! I want to pursue arts professionally no matter what!” (Oh you know about that — everyone knew about that back in Uno.) But, hey, look at me. I’ve steered the wheel and gone down a [VERY] different path. I’m currently taking up BS Psychology, and I’m full of hopes of becoming a renowned psychiatrist or a clinical psychologist. (The two differ, yes. :D)

    Um, so much for my ramble. *hides* Bottom line? Things change. People, decisions, everything. However, I think it’s still worth keeping a small sheet of paper with our goals and ideals written on it to keep track! XD

Leave a Reply

