A Reading Checklist


This is a list of books displayed on my shelves which I have yet to read. Most of them have been given sneak peeks, though. On the first few lines, pages, or a chapter or two. I just could not help it.

Even though I know I won’t have time to read them all, I bought them out of sheer temptation and impulse. Books have that effect on me.

In fact, I treat books as the things that I will never want to scrimp on, and will happily trade my lunch money for the day for a good book I found in a book sale or something. Books have been a huge part of my life since the fairytale, Baby-sitters’ Club, Sweet Valley, and Nancy Drew days. Sadly though, I have so little time to read since I stepped into the exciting, stressful, and eventful world called college.

I miss the days wherein I had all the time in the world to curl up on the couch and read all day long. Then again, I’m pretty thankful that life is exciting and crazy enough to keep me busy and to realize that there is so much to read, so many things to see, so many things going on at the same time, and twenty-four hours is simply not enough.

Now I am on my very first sem break, I need to unwind and make up for all these books that are waiting for me since college has began. I definitely won’t finish all these in a month, but I still like to list everything down, and record my current reads. I am a slow reader, by the way.

And to those who may be reading this, maybe you could get ideas here on books you’d want to read next, too.

My Reading Checklist, in no particular order:

  1. My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult
  2. Picture Perfect, Jodi Picoult
  3. Sophie’s World, Jostein Gaarder
  4. The Host, Stephenie Meyer (I liked the plot very much, but stopped reading after things became dragging in the middle. I plan to reread the whole thing, again.)
  5. The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albom
  6. Tuesdays with Morrie, Mitch Albom
  7. Fragile Things, Neil Gaiman
  8. M is for Magic, Neil Gaiman
  9. Coraline, Neil Gaiman
  10. Good Omens, Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
  11. 90 Minutes in Heaven,
  12. The Shack, William Young
  13. Thanks for the Memories, Cecilia Ahern
  14. At First Sight, Nicholas Sparks
  15. Like the Flowing River, Paulo Coelho
  16. Warrior of the Light, Paulo Coelho
  17. The Zahir, Paulo Coelho
  18. Veronika Decides to Die, Paulo Coelho
  19. Brida, Paulo Coelho
  20. Eleven Minutes, Paulo Coelho
  21. By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept, Paulo Coelho
  22. Digital Fortress, Paulo Coelho
  23. Possession, A.S. Byatt
  24. The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  25. Everything I Know I Learned in Kindergarten, Robert Fulghum
  26. Maybe, Maybe Not, Robert Fulghum
  27. Eclipse, Stephenie Meyer
  28. Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer
  29. Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  30. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
  31. Annakarenina, Leo Tolstoy
  32. Anne of Green Gables
  33. The Rule of Four, Ian Caldwell & Dustin Thomason
  34. Einstein’s Dreams, Alan Lightman
  35. How to be Popular, Meg Cabot
  36. Jinx, Meg Cabot
  37. Queen of Babble in the Big City, Meg Cabot
  38. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
  39. Where Angels Fear to Tread, E.M. Forster
  40. The Godmother, Carrie Adams
  41. The Purpose Driven Life, Rick Warren
  42. Chicken Soup for the Soul
  43. A Great and Terrible Beauty, Libba Bray
  44. Shanghai Baby, Wei Hui
  45. Marrying Buddha, Wei Hui
  46. Othello
  47. Much Ado About Nothing
  48. Macbeth
  49. The Comedy of Errors
  50. The Spiderwick Chronicles
  51. The Historian, Elizabeth Kostova
  52. The Philosophy Files
  53. the latest double issue of Heights
  54. The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold
  55. The Secret, Rhonda Byrne
  56. This is My Story, Various Authors
  57. Inkheart, Cornelia Funke
  58. Every Breath You Take, Judith McNaught
  59. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, Roald Dahl
  60. A Series of Unfortunate Events, Lemony Snicket (I have reached the 9th book, I think. I want to read the whole series again.)
Leave a Reply

